Things We Love: Latest Vintage Trends in Film

It has been very exciting to witness a major trend in the last year; throwback films to the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

Maybe I am just charmed because on Sunday, I had the enormous pleasure of viewing The Artist, the silent black and white film that has been taking over all of the cinema award shows (BAFTA, Golden Globes and nominated for Oscars and 10 CĂ©sars!). Or, remember the latest Woody Allen film, Midnight in Paris – where the lead character finds a time warp which takes him back to Paris in the 1920s. My Week with Marilyn, should also be great (I haven’t had the chance to see this yet – I think it has just been released?). And don’t forget, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, is also due out this year.

I have to admit my natural affinity towards the 1930s and 1940s – however it is lovely to see things from this era catching so much public attention and enjoyment. We will definitely be seeing these decades come back over the next year in both prints and style – which makes me a very happy girl, indeed.

Comments
2 Responses to “Things We Love: Latest Vintage Trends in Film”
  1. Erica says:

    Also just watch The Artist, great film!
    Really want to see Midnight In Paris, I’ve seen posters for it almost everywhere!

    • cc says:

      Hey Erica, thanks for the comment! Yes, I kind of fell in love with The Artist – it was such a cool experience in the theater. I’m super excited that film has taken this direction – it is nice and light-hearted. You might really like Midnight in Paris – the costumes / characters (especially Hemmingway) are great. It’s an easy film to watch and the soundtrack is great (the gypsy jazz number – I had the pleasure to meet the musician that created it, last december in Brooklyn – I was a little star struck when he sat at my table for dinner!). Wish you all of the best and hope you check back with us! Kind Regards from EDCC xo

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

